Drinking beer with a super cute sea otter.

There are certain times when everything just comes together and makes a great day even better. If you know anything from my other posts, I am not a really big fan of drinking in bars and clubs. Instead I like to sit down outside, preferably with the view of the ocean or mountains. This time I had just sat down to enjoy a nice bottle of beer on the ocean with a friend. Suddenly, out walks a sea otter about 5 meters away. Not only that, he had a fish! The otter hauled him self onto the rock and started chewing away at the fish. My excited whispering and picture snapping did not seem to bother him at all. But in no time, he had slipped back into the water. I was so excited, laughing with my friend neither of us had ever seen a wild otter this close in person. Let alone on dry land. Then about 5 min later he popped out of the water again about 10 meters away on a different rock. With another fish! He looked up right into my camera, and made a little squeaky otter call. I snapped the picture below as I myself made a squeaky noise of excitement and dorkyness at seeing such an awesome animal.

Life is good when sea otters are involved!

otter mouth

IMG_0103

The otter is a little further away this  time (on the rock over my foot) but still nearby! IMG_0105IMG_0095

IMG_0106

IMG_0096

4 comments

  1. This is great! I love the photos and the excitement coming through your writing. Thanks for sharing.

  2. omigosh you’re insanely LUCKY; they’re usually so incredibly shy!! when i see them (or hear them), i stalk them like mad in the hopes of getting a shot, before they duck into the water. and he brought his food to eat with you! what a cutie-pie.

  3. He looks like he’s about to sneeze in the second to last pic. 🙂

  4. Haha Sara you’re totally right!

Leave a Reply

